Being back at home…

Sorry that I haven’t posted in a bit. It’s been busy around here getting back into the routine and dealing with lots of changes with the new school year and saying goodbye to dear friends. Weep.

Ev'ryday I'm shufflin'...

“Ev’ryday I’m shufflin’…” Chillin’ in my office/classroom.

I have a few things in the works and will post pics of our AMAZING and much-needed, much-too-short trip home soon!

In the meantime here are just a few thoughts on being back home.

Haha…so my English didn’t change that much, thankfully. I did order a breakfast platter ‘SET’ instead of a ‘combo’ at McDonald’s once. Konglish…ergh

Driving was…INSANE!! I was scared to get back behind the wheel after two years (!), but it felt oddly satisfying to be in one’s own vehicle. I forgot how much I loved to blast the music and have a driving dance party. πŸ™‚

Also, it was so hard to break the habit of giving and receiving with two hands! It got ridiculous sometimes when a cashier would be waiting for me to hand over my payment, watching me balance my purse and purchases trying to give my debit card or cash with both hands. :/ I did get a few confused looks.

Some new sayings that I learned:

ratchet: tore up, in a state of mess

As in, “Wow, that girl looks ratchet.”

out of pocket: you’ve given it all you got, you have no more pocket to dig into…

As in, “Wow, that girl looks all ratchet. She must be out of pocket.”

Smangin’: Short for smashing and banging, a type of body roll dance move.

As in, “Wow, that girl smangin’ over there looks all ratchet. She must be out of pocket.”

I think I used those in the right context. πŸ˜‰

And now…for your viewing and comedic pleasure: Smang It.

Credits to my little sis’, Nina, for the new sayings.

One thought on “Being back at home…

Leave a Reply

