No car? So…how do you get around?

I found this video about the subway system and knew I just had to write a post about it.

An ode to Korea’s subway system:

A lot of people are shocked when they hear that we don’t own a car in Seoul. The truth of the matter is that, well, you don’t actually need one. Owning a car can be more convenient sometimes like when you make trips to Costco or want to  take a road trip outside the city, but for us, the pros don’t outweigh the cons.

Some of the cons

I’m not sure how it is in other countries but in Seoul, they drive like maniacs more aggressively than I’m used to. Red lights are merely suggestions to stop and they would laugh at our practice of ‘defensive driving’. Just like getting in line for a bus, subway, or food sample at the grocery store in Seoul  (think Walmart on Black Friday morning as they open the doors), driving is the same pushing and shoving match, except with cars. You have to be aggressive to survive. So yeah, I’m pretty much too scared to drive in this country, at least in the city.

Another huge con is the price of gas. I know all of you in the States can feel me on this one. Gas is so freaking expensive. But consider this…

  • 1 liter of gas in Seoul costs 2,100KRW (about $1.90)
  • 3.79 liters = 1 gallon
  • 1 gallon of gas costs  7,959KRW  which is $7 USD!

$7 for a gallon of gas in Seoul. Yup…that’s expensive. You can read a news article about Seoul’s current gas prices here.

Public transportation in Korea is incredibly easy to use and inexpensive. My commute to work cost me around $2 round-trip. Although it takes a bit longer to reach my destination, I don’t mind the extra time on public transportation because I can just sit and read, or check email or watch YouTube since subways have wi-fi, even underground. Also, it’s great not having to pay for car insurance or maintenance. The funny thing is, I don’t really miss driving at all.

What do you think? 

One thought on “No car? So…how do you get around?

Leave a Reply

