More school lunch: Days 6-14

First, let me apologize for not keeping up with this post. I really underestimated the time it would take to click and upload and talk about each meal. With the semester heading into the break I’ve really been busy with classes and such. With that out of the way, here are more school lunches for your visual enjoyment.

Day 6: Rice, fruit salad, radish kimchi, creamy veg soup, and meat patty in gravy

Tomato in fruit salad - yes, they do that here

Day 7: Sujebi (hand torn noodle soup), rice, stewed pork rib, kimchi and spinach salad

Day 8: asian pasta salad, rice, kimchi, anchovy salad and beef soup

I thought these were clear crunchy rice noodles when I first tried them.

Crispy anchovy and peanut salad

Day 9: rice, seaweed soup, rolled egg, radish kimchi and soondae (blood sausage) and ricecake

I can’t say the blood sausage was my favorite. It was okay. I ended up eating around them. The rolled egg was really good though.

Day 10: rice, spicy fish soup, kimchi, mushroom and beef stew, and my fav, twice cooked sweet potatoes

Ohmigosh those sweet potatoes are like crack! I couldn’t stop eating them. I’m not exactly sure how they are made but they taste like they were baked and then battered and fried. Delicious! 맛있어!!

Day 11: rice, fish soup, stewed beef with quail eggs, kimchi, and buckwheat noodle salad

Day 12: rice, kimchi, seaweed, steamed greens, and stewed tuna

I’m usually not a picky eater, but Day 12’s tuna proved to be more than I could handle. For some reason I just could not eat the fish. It was just too, well, fishy! I had to ignore that it was there because even the smell was putting me off. I ended up giving my portion to my co-teacher. I think this is the first time I can remember not being able to eat a Korean dish.

Day 13: Juk (rice porridge), battered rice cake, persimmon juice, kiwi, and radish kimchi

I was thoroughly psyched out when we got Day 13’s lunch. Observe on the left. Looks like a corndog right? Wrong. I kept expecting a hot dog at some point but it turned out to be only a battered chewy rice cake made to look like a corn dog. :(…

Day 14: rice, Korean style miso soup, sweet and sour fried chicken, kimchi and spicy radish

There is barely any green on Day 14’s menu. The chicken was really good though!!

Okay, only a little less than halfway done with this 30 day post. I’m not sure I can promise a whole 30 days because school gets out in a couple of weeks and then we go on vacation (yay!) but I’ll do my best.

Leave a Reply

