Coffee culture in Korea…

For an in-depth, well-written post about this topic, be sure to check out my friend Michelle’s post here:

http://doremifa-seoul.blogspot.com/2011/10/coffee-in-korea.html

I loved her post so much I decided to re-post it and add a few thoughts of my own…

One of the hardest things for me to adjust to was not having a coffeepot at work. At my previous job at the Health Department we even had an espresso machine in addition to a regular coffeepot. From that to this:  the Korean coffeepot; it’s an electric kettle.

Korean 'coffeepot'

Every office has one, and every teacher has one in the classroom as well. Here are our selection of instant teas and coffees along with some snacks.  Everyone chips in about $20 for 3 months worth of crackers, cookies and tea and coffee.

snacks and bevs

I reminisce about working at the Health Department and being able to whip up a soy mocha or latte on a break. Oh the joys of having an espresso machine at work! Korean coffee is much weaker. So much so, that I use two packets of coffee for one cup of morning joe.

makes one delicious steaming cup of joe.

When I brought my yellow coffee mug to work one of my co-workers said, “I think that’s a SOUP cup.” Actually, it is bigger by Korean standards.  The Koreans drink tiny cups of coffee, about 4-6 oz is all. I’m sorry, but I need more than that to get me going!

Cafes are everywhere here. We have 3 just in our building! Cafe prices are about the same as back home, $4-6 a cup. Therefore, I’ve started making my own hot frothy drinks at home. Here’s a hot chocolate I made recently. I heated the milk on the stove and used my french press to froth it up. I poured it into my yellow “soup” cup.

In Korea it's called 'hot choco'

I think as with anything, with time, you adjust.  I can’t wait to get some great coffee back home. Also, I want to give a special thank you shout out to my friends at the Health Department sending us a care package with some delicious Macy’s Coffee. Mike and I savored it to the last drop!

Leave a Reply

