Making decisions and God’s will

I’ve been reading the Rick Warren’s Daily Devotional plan on my Ipod. Check it out; it’s in the YouVersion Holy Bible app.  Today’s reading really spoke to me. It’s about giving up the stress of making decisions, and realizing that God is with you, guiding you.

Psalm 23:3

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

The devotional text is as follows:

God’s Antidote to Indecision

Sometime we’re afraid of making the wrong decision. And that creates stress.

But God says there is an antidote to our indecision. Psalm 23:3 tells us, “He guides me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.” We handle the stress of decision-making by letting God guide us.

You may be thinking, “But I’ve tried this!’ You asked God to guide you but then you became more confused than before. You still couldn’t figure it out. You wonder, “Why is knowing God’s will so difficult?’

Is God playing games with us? Of course not! God wants to guide us. He wants us to know His will more than we want to know it. Our problem is we often look for the wrong thing when we’re trying to find God’s will.

Some of us look for a feeling. Some of us want a methodical approach to God’s will, a recipe or a formula to apply. Some of us take a magical approach and look God to do some fantastic sign.

All of these ways lead to frustration and cause us to miss God’s will.

God does not want you confused and he does not want you stressed over making any decision. He is there, guiding you every step of the way.

This is his promise, so you can believe this to be true: “He guides me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.” (Psalm 23:3 NIV)

After months of prayer and stress about whether or not to stay in Korea, Mike and I have made the decision not to renew my contract.  It was really painful for me to accept that our time here (for now) is over. I prayed and prayed that God would provide a way by providing a decent part-time job for Mike, but it never happened. For months I felt like God was not answering my prayer to stay here longer and I was even a bit angry about it.   The funny thing is that once I accepted it, and realized it was not God’s will for us to stay here another year, I felt a tremendous peace about the decision.  I even feel excited about the next chapter in our lives.

More than ever Mike is determined to go back to school and finish his B.A. I am now looking into teaching as a career since I love it so much. Also, I don’t think this is the end for us in Korea. I do believe we will come back soon. We have been given this tremendous gift, to be able to spend a year in this beautiful country together, to meet Mike’s grandparents and see his hometown. I feel extremely blessed.

Now, we’re looking toward the future. We plan on moving back to Washington State to be closer to my family, and because it just feels like “home” to us. In the meantime, Mike and I are going to savor every moment we have left in these next few months. We plan on starting a ‘bucket list’ of things we want to do before we leave.

Some of our bucket list ideas: check out the dessert cafe ‘Passion 5’, visit Mike’s orphanage, make makkeoli, visit with Mike’s grandparents again, etc. Let me know if you others we should add…

2 thoughts on “Making decisions and God’s will

  1. It is difficult to leave a place that you love. I hope you can bring back some things that are important to you–some to give and some to keep. I believe that they will soon become very important to you. Most people who do what you have done feel like different people after they come home. Many feel angry at the careless use of resources in the US–some feel as though they now have two homes and are always missing one. In the end, the experience changes our hearts and minds and we grow in ways we never anticipated. Thank you for posting the blog. It has been so wonderful to follow you through this last year. I’m praying for both of you. Love you, Andrea. Jane

Leave a Reply

