What’s bakin’?

My dream someday is to open a vegan bakery. Why vegan? I have many reasons for this but the main one is that I just love dessert – anything I can do to make it less harmful to my health the better because I just won’t give them up. Vegan baking is also pretty fun and somewhat adventurous; you learn to use different ingredients to achieve the same purpose as conventional baking ingredients. While I miss my kitchen tools back home (blender, food processor, juicer, grinder, conventional oven) I’ve learned to make do in Korea.

I’m finally getting used to my tiny toaster oven. I figured out that it gets way too hot to bake properly if I follow the temperature controls so I’ve resorted to just putting it on a low setting and feeling inside for the correct temperature and then watching like a hawk. So far I’ve had a few successes:

Vegan chocolate chip cookies:

By far, this is my favorite cookie: chewy, moist, decadent and chocolatey! Surprisingly, in Korea baking chocolate chips are hard to find. The E-mart near our place just recently started carrying them. They come in a small bag (about a 1/2 cup) of mini-chips for about $1. I used iherb.com to order one of my go-to baking ingredients: ground flaxseed. While I prefer to grind the flaxseed immediately before baking I don’t have a grinder here so I just make do.  I substitute flaxseed and water for the egg.

Snickerdoodles:

Flying high on my chocolate chip cookie baking success I decided to try my hand at some Snickerdoodles. Mike really loves this cookie whereas I usually have to be in the mood for them. For some reason, I’ve been on a cinnamon sugar kick. These came out well. Mike said he could taste the salt but I think that’s because we use a kosher type salt; no fine grind here.

One ingredient I really miss for baking is Earth Balance vegan butter. For these recipes I’ve used canola oil instead. The result is a cookie with a bit of crunch.

One thought on “What’s bakin’?

Leave a Reply

