What I miss…

It may seem weird, but what I miss most (besides family and friends, of course!) are my kitchen appliances. In Korea, most apartments don’t come with ovens, only a stove. For those of you who know me well, you know that I LOVE to experiment in the kitchen and am always coming up with new recipes. I especially miss baking. Recently we had some apples that were about to go bad so I decided to try and make some applesauce. We don’t have a blender here; it’s hard to justify buying stuff when we know we’ll only be here a short time so  I did my best without. The taste was actually pretty close…

Homemade applesauce

I think we will eventually buy a blender and/or food processor. As the months get warmer and more humid I would like to start making smoothies and raw vegan desserts again.

I didn’t realize how much I would miss my cooking and baking tools.  Oh well, it’s all about the experience! Korea has other conveniences to make up for it.  It’s so easy to take the elevator to the first floor of our building where there is a Tom N Tom’s coffee (sort of like a Korean Starbucks), a 24 hour convenience store, and sushi, fried chicken and chinese restaurants.   We can also take a short subway ride and be in a whole different area of the city and explore different cuisines.

Overall, I think Mike and I are enjoying city life. There are some drawbacks but the pros outweigh the cons for the moment.

3 thoughts on “What I miss…

  1. the apple sauce looks yummy. you could try a submersible blender, the hand held kind. i use mine for everything and it is so easy to clean up. i sound like a sales person, but it is small and would be easy to bring back with you. I’m glad you are still considering coming back to the states!

Leave a Reply

