Feels like propaganda

I don’t know why but this poster in my classroom really made me laugh, and then it made me feel a little bit uncomfortable, like there was some sort of underlying agenda…Is it just me who thinks teaching the months of the year this way to elementary school kids is weird?  I mean, really? Happy couple gets married, happy couple “shares new experiences”, happy couple has a secret…etc…Sometimes I feel like I’m stuck in a time warp and am living in the fifties. It just illustrates the fact that there is such strong pressure to conform here.  I think this type of literature just adds to the idea that there is just one way to live and be a part of society. Interesting…

January

February

March

April

May

June

July

August

September

October

November

December

7 thoughts on “Feels like propaganda

  1. So Katy and i were really freaked out by this. i can’t imagine seeing a poster like that in my son’s classroom. do the parents ever see it? i wonder if they think white people have babies in Novermber all the time.

    • I know, right? I thought it was a little strange. Then again, it’s weird because I question whether or not it’s a cultural thing or just a ‘me’ thing. Glad to know it wasn’t just me thinking it was odd. Hope all is well with you gals! I miss you! I’ve been rocking my smart smiles and public health shirt 😉

  2. wtf??!! This is super freakin creepy! I know there must be a great deal of culture shock, but holy crap. I don’t have kids, but if I did this definitely isn’t how I’d want them to learn the months of the year.

  3. My parents must have this calendar… I’m a November baby!! LOL!!

    Seriously that is so demented. What those children must think!? Um.. get married and then have babies? I love the month of April… stressing eating healthy.. but are those wine bottles by the window? LOL

    MISS YOU! should I send you a native american calendar? 🙂

    • Cher, you November baby, you! I would love a Native American calendar! I’d put it in my classroom for the kids. The only Western culture they’re really exposed to is what they see on t.v. so this would be great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

